The Sala Beckett is a space for the theatre-related creation, training and experimentation, devoted especially to promoting contemporary playwriting and to disseminating Catalan theatrical authorship.

A meeting point for theatrical authors with other stage creators and professionals from different spheres and disciplines, the Sala Beckett hosts intense activity in show production and programming, courses and labs, lectures, meet-ups and all kinds of activities involving exchange, thinking and debate on playwriting and the contemporary world.

The Fundació Sala Beckett/Obrador Internacional de Dramatúrgia is its steering body which, with a board of trustees formed by 12 playwrights, ensures compliance with the founding aims and guarantees the organisation’s transparency and democratic functioning.

With José Sanchis Sinisterra as the Patron of Honor, the current members of the Board of Trustees are: Sergi Belbel (President), Carles Batlle, Marta Buchaca, Toni Casares, Clàudia Cedó, Jordi Galceran, Juan Mayorga, Pau Miró, Pere Riera, Mercè Sarrias and Victoria Szpunberg.

The Sala Beckett is one of Barcelona City Council’s Art Factories and also has the support of the Catalan Government’s Department of Culture and INAEM (National Institute of Performing Arts and Music).